Is there anyway to stream Spotify without upgrading to a "premium" Spotify account?

• 25 December 2013
  • 130 replies

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

130 replies

Userlevel 1
I'm new to sonos and the world of streaming.

It seems to me that, irrespective of the advantages of premium services, Sonos does not make clear:
a) that there are specific restrictions to using streaming services(such as Spotify, Deezer, etc) with Sonos
b) their financial relationship concerning these restrictions.

My guess is that this is a collegial decision between Spotify, Deezer, etc. and Sonos to "encourage" Sonos users to purchase premium services. And, for Sonos, this makes sense if Sonos is getting a piece of the action.

If this is the case, so be it, but a little transparency up front is the least that you owe a customer who spends good money for a high end stereo purchase (and, as a reposne to one of the prevoious posts, this is not clearly stated to any normal viewer of the Sonos website). If Sonos is making money on the equipment and the streaming services, then this should be clear. Otherwise, Sonos risks losing customer trust; the basis for a long-term franchise.

I want to be able to do what I do with my PC: listen to live concerts on YouTube, search artists by name and listen to their works. This function is severely compromised with the current Sonos set-up and I am afraid that this is, precisely, part of their business model.
Wow, that's a lot of assumptions. Here are some facts:

1) Requiring a premium account is on the service provider. Sonos has nothing to do with this provision. Services like Slacker and Pandora are available free, services like Spotify and Apple Music are not, whereas Google Play Music and others allow both.