Hidden albums in Rhapsody?

• 12 September 2011
  • 6 replies

Badge
Sonos newbie here. I'm into a Rhapsody trial and have noticed when I search for Pink Floyd none of their studio albums from 1973-1983 appear under "Main Releases" or "Top Albums". Even searching for "Dark Side Of the Moon" under albums does not displayer their classic release. Searching "Top Tracks" under Pink Floyd displays all the radio hits and from there I can add the key albums to my queue. Is Rhapsody intentionally making it hard to find these albums? (I'm surprised they are available given they can't be purchased on iTunes of via Amazon MP3.) If so, are there any other albums Rhapsody is hiding?

Thanks.

6 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge
Hi,

I've just checked and found the same behaviour.

I've also noticed that for the last few days, that my desktop controller won't load my library by artist, but will by album, whereas all my other controllers load my library by artist without any problem.

Cheers
Chris
... are there any other albums Rhapsody is hiding?

Online music is a very strange bird. Each track must be licensed from the copyright holders and they don't always release everything in an artist's catalog. In fact you may discover a single track on an album that is not playable while all of the other tracks are available.

Further, ownership of an artist's library could change hands and the new owner might change the licensing. In a few cases an artist has disappeared after being available for several years.

Some artists, such as The Beatles allow radio like play where the listener cannot pick a particular track, but will not allow track by track play. This can be very frustrating after hearing a track on a service that one cannot play. And, the artist may limit the number of tracks that can be played per hour on the "radio" service.
Badge
Online music is a very strange bird...Interesting stuff. Thanks buzz.