Answered

Connecting an external flash drive to an Android phone

• 21 June 2020
  • 8 replies

• Contributor I
  • 3 replies

Hi there, I’m new to Sonos. I’ve got a flash drive with music stored on it, attached to a Mi Android phone. I’ve installed the Sonos app on the phone. The phone recognises the flash drive fine and I can navigate around it using the file manager, but I’m not sure how to tell the Sonos app to use it. I went to Add New Share but none of my ways of identifying the share seem to find favour with the Sonos app. Can anybody help?

icon

Best answer by John B 24 June 2020, 09:24

Hi. That is not possible. The Sonos system is network-based and the Sonos app is a remote control for the system, not a music player. 

View original

8 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +10

Hi @mjbr,

Thanks for reaching out and welcome to the community!

You won’t able to share music files stored on a flash drive using a mobile device, not unless it is network-attached storage or NAS drive. 

It is possible to share the music folder with Sonos by using Mac or Windows computer.

Here is an article that will guide you on Adding and updating your music library to Sonos.

Let us know how it goes and If you have any other questions or run into any issues, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Hi Annazel,

thanks very much for your speedy response. I’m sorry that I didn’t explain myself very well, though. I don’t want to share these files, just to play them through the Sonos app. I understand that, in the normal course of things, I could share them when the flash drive was attached to my computer; but I want to be able to use the Sonos speaker with my phone when I’m not attached to my home network by directly attaching the flash drive to my phone. Is there a way of doing this?

Thanks for your help

Hi. That is not possible. The Sonos system is network-based and the Sonos app is a remote control for the system, not a music player.