Cloud Storage solution

• 5 January 2018
  • 8 replies

I am new to Sonos, but impressed so far. Although I use spotify as a steaming service, I have a local iTunes library of approx 400 cds. I'd like to make these available on the sonos too without having to keep the laptop on. I was looking at NAS solutions but cost and possible noise issues I think have ruled these out. That leaves cloud solutions. Amazon music as I understand is stopping their storage option in a few days. So what other options are there?

Can anyone advise and give experience on the likes of Apple Music (their website makes it very difficult to find out exact details) or others that would let me upload my collection of albums (ripped as MP3 in iTunes) ideally keeping playlists, album art etc.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +13
I use a WD My Cloud NAS, silent in operation and works well with Sonos, 3tb cost £90 ish.
Userlevel 2
Badge +2
Ditto on the WD My Cloud. Mine works flawlessly, no noise issues, and Sonos access is seamless.
Those are both NAS drives. For a true Cloud solution, Google Play Music lets you upload/match up to 50,000 tracks and you can play these on Sonos from a free Google Play Music account.
Appreciate the responses thank you. The Nas may be an option as obviously could use for other media too. I'll investigate google play.
Userlevel 7
Badge +20
For a true Cloud solution, Google Play Music lets you upload/match up to 50,000 tracks and you can play these on Sonos from a free Google Play Music account.
Just to confirm that this works very well with Sonos, as well as making your collection available via all the native GPM players. Just be aware that tracks are limited to 320kbps MP3 quality, and each track can be no bigger than 300MB.