Add Aux to Sonos Using Raspberry Pi

Userlevel 1
Badge
I just published an Instructable showing how to add an aux line-in to Sonos using a Raspberry Pi. I use it primarily to listen to an over-the-air radio station that's not available online but it is perfect for adding a turntable to Sonos...

https://www.instructables.com/id/Add-Aux-to-Sonos-Using-Raspberry-Pi/

11 replies

Badge
Interesting that nobody jumped on this so far.... I think this is one of the big gaps (or Sonos policy ?!!?) not to provide a line-in on other speakers than the play5 ....
This is a great project. i am not too experienced on the raspbery pi but would love to do this.
anybody else with some experience who can encourage me to start it :D
Badge
It looks very well documented. Guess I ll give it a try and get back :cool:
Badge
I am decided and about to start :cool:
would like to skip the special kabel and use another usb-audio-converter (half the price) than the Behringer one.
https://www.amazon.de/UGREEN-Externe-Soundkarte-Adapter-Klinke-Buchse/dp/B06XP5R449/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1510419361&sr=1-1-spons&keywords=USB+audio+interface&psc=1
Do you think this would work as well; how can I fiind this out without just trying ?
Userlevel 1
Badge
I'm glad you're doing this! I bought the Raspberry Pi thinking it would be something I could tinker around with for a few weeks but of course as most of my projects go after one all-nighter I had it all figured out. lol BTW, that USB adapter you linked only has microphone mono sound input. There are very few USB external sound cards with stereo line inputs.
Badge
Well, I am afraid one night will not do :P. I am a noob.
Started to collect the HW. Keep fingers crossed. I'll get back :cool:
Badge
Thanks for this great tutorial. Works absolutely flawless!