Answered

Sounds dropouts and glitches on Beam gen2

• 7 January 2023
  • 5 replies

Badge

I have very recently added a Sonos Beam gen2 to my Sonos setup - I also have a Sub and two Ones which i’ve had for years and have been very happy with.

My problem is that the Beam keeps dropping / glitching audio whilst watching TV - it’s not a complete dropout, but very noticeable particularly on louder sections. It happens regularly every 5-10 minutes or so, but if I rewind what I’m watching it never happens at the same point in the program.

I was previously using a Sony Blu-ray/home cinema system with the same Panasonic TV and that never demonstrated this problem.

The other relevant info is that the Sonos will not work with the HDMI-ARC output on my TV - I’ve had to use the optical HDMI adaptor. (and I know the TV ARC output works as that’s how I’ve been using my Sony system for many years)

It happens regularly enough that I’m thinking of returning the Beam whilst in the returns window.

TV is Panasonic Viera 58DX750 

icon

Best answer by displayname 23 January 2023, 13:07

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

Hi @displayname 

I’m sorry to hear that.

I recommend you get in touch with our technical support team, who have tools at their disposal that will allow them to give you advice specific to your Sonos system and what it reports, and to go through some real-time troubleshooting.

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

Hi @displayname 

Welcome to the Sonos Community!

Regarding the audio dropouts, I recommend you try rebooting your TV by unplugging it from power for at least a couple of minutes. However, if you opt to try HDMI again, you’ll do this soon anyway.