Question

Using Playbar with Samsung TV Remote Control?

• 14 September 2013
  • 4 replies

How do I use my TV remote control to control to adjust Playbar and Sub volume when watching TV? My new Samsung UN55F7500 does not want to cooperate in setup procedure. TV Speakers turned off. When I go through Sonos Playbar setup and hold down TV remote volume up, TV shows message that speakers are off and remote won't work volume. Also Sonos Playbar fails to see TV remote for setup. I don't want to have to use another remote.

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +22
Problem is the TV doesn't have an IR remote. It came with Blaster Cable you plug into the TV and put in front of IR devices (in this case Playbar). I'm not a Samsung expert but needs to be set where volume sends via the blaster cable (such as setting to control volume of anther device).
The remote has an IR window in the front of it.
Userlevel 4
Badge +3
Hi fleetman.

the Samsung UN55F7500's remote control is indeed a bluetooth remote rather than IR. 

Easiest way out would be to program a universal or third party IR remote: https://sonos.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2022

Regards, 

Daniel H. 
Unfortunatly I have the exact same problem.

I own a new 2016 Samsung UE49KS7000 smart tv. The TV itself is awsome. But the problem is that the TV no longer has a remote that transmits IR signals.
They used to ship the smart tv's with two remotes. A minimalistic RF remote, and the classic color buttoned disaster of an IR remote that never felt one with the slick tv that comes with it.

I love the small remote. It looks nice, and does the trick. But it has one big downfall. It does not have an IR transmitter that actually transmits for most of the buttons, if not all. I believe the power on/off is stil an IR signal. But I am not sure. Using the old Samsung IR remote of my old tv does the trick. The Samsung tv recognises the signal and so does the Sonos bar after I set it up to recognise the old Samsung remote.