Question

Surround sound speakers not working with Sony OLED Bravia 65'

• 10 September 2017
  • 4 replies

I just purchased 2 Play 1's, a Sub and a PlayBase. I have connected the system successfully to my Sony TV, brand new also. Unfortunately, I am not getting Dolby 5.1 surround sound. I verified this on my Sonos App by looking at "Settings" and then "About My Sonos" which shows an "Audio In" note regarding my PlayBase that indicates "Stereo" not "Dolby Digital 5.1". But also the 2 Play 1's are not working. They connected fine, but there is no sound from them. I am not very technical, so cannot really troubleshoot anymore. Diagnostics 7822627 if anyone can help?

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

4 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +1
Ok, So I have the 55" Sony OLED setup with a Playbar, Sub and 2 x Play 1's. I have no issues getting 5.1 surround out of the setup. There are a couple of settings you should check. First check that you have the built in speakers on the OLED switched off (under the 'Speakers' settings select 'Audio System'). This ensures that sound will only go through the optical output from the OLED to your Sonos setup. Secondly, check the settings on each device that is connected via HDMI to the TV. For example make sure the sound settings on your cable box are set to output Surround. Same with any medial players or game consoles. Test again.
Thanks so much for replying, really appreciate it. Speakers were already set on Audio system, but the cable box was set on Stereo and I adjusted to Dolby 5.1 and the playbase now reflects this, so partially fixed. My issue withe the 2 x Play 1's remains though and Im not getting any sound out of them.
Userlevel 2
Badge +1
Hi dunkie26,

Nylon made some great suggestions about configuring the audio output type to Dolby Digital.