Question

Stereo / Dolby

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hi all, 

Forgive my questions if they seem silly but I am a newbie to Sonos! I’ve ensured the sound setting on my LG is set to ‘Dolby Digital’ and have a Beam (nothing else as yet). On my Sonos app it always says Stereo 2.0 even though I’m currently watching a Blu Ray with Dolby sound. Is this because I don’t have any surround speakers as yet? Will it only flip over to say Dolby when I have the surrounds in place? I assumed that it didn’t say that previously because I was just watching TV but now I’ve set up my Blu Ray player, it’s still saying Stereo. 

Thank you!

18 replies

Which sound setting do you have set to Dolby Digital? My LG TV only offers PCM or Auto for HDMI-ARC and optical. Of course our TVs may differ. 

It doesn't depend on surrounds.

You may need to also check the audio settings on your Blu-ray player, and make sure it is set up to send a Dolby Digital signal, and also be playing a Dolby Digital soundtrack. For instance, if the soundtrack your playing is a DTS one, it likely will default down to Stereo due to the HDMI CEC communication from the Beam to the TV (hub) and then back to the Blu-ray player.

Userlevel 1
Badge

Aha Bruce, thank you! I’ll check that. it’s such an old blu ray player but very good still. 

John - it’s under Sound then Additional Settings - called DTS Audio Setting and the options are MPEG, Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, HE-AAC and Auto. I kept seeing posts saying to make sure your TV was set to Dolby and this was the only place I could find Dolby! I’m pretty ignorant though haha. 

Thank you both. 

Go into the TV Sound menu.

Find 'Sound out'

Select 'Audio Out (Optical/ HDMI-ARC)'

Under that, set Digital Sound Out to 'Auto' not 'PCM'