Question

Play 5 and 2 x Play1 for TV

• 16 May 2016
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +4
I'm new to Sonos, and I've got a Play 5 (gen 2) and 2 x Play 1. I've got the Play 5 wired into the TV using the 3.5mm jack so it's effectively acting as my soundbar. I was using my 2 x 1's elsewhere in the house, but they're barely used so I thought about adding them to the lounge setup most of the time, and just relocating them around the house as I need to.

So what would be the best way of connecting them to the lounge setup? As a stereo pair rear speakers? front with the 5 as a centre channel? Any other suggested configurations? Shame I can't use the 5 as a playbar and get surround from the setup, but I don't think my budget can justify a playbar yet, and that would kind of leave my 5 surplus to requirements!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

Badge
Thank you to everybody for your input, looking forward to setting up my Play:5 when it arrives - unfortunately delivery has been delayed due to heavy snow closing a main Motorway close to me - i'm sure you all know what its like waiting for something even when it does arrive on time !!

I'm sure that I do have a pretty good wi-fi signal so would not expect any issues- I will try running uncompressed & see how things go from there.
Userlevel 7
Badge +22
I can confirm that uncompressed I have never noticed in lip sync issues in testing Play:5 analog in from my cable box. Maybe some people notice lip sync more but the difference to me was not noticeable.

Now - if I were to turn up my TV speakers while the Play:5 connected to TV the TV speakers would of course create a bit of stadium effect being slightly ahead of the Play:5.