LG C9 + Arc + UB820 / Multichannel PCM for DTS Blu-Ray discs

Show first post

314 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +1

Keep going gents, once we have concrete evidence which manufacturer is to blaim i will be read to bombard them with your findings :D

At the minute all three manufactureres blame the other, however i didn’t think Sonos were to blaim at all initally!

Userlevel 1
Badge +1

Thanks @Laird M Malamed for your work on this!

Userlevel 3
Badge +2

Interesting. I wonder if that’s a bug from when they rolled out LPCM support?

That is what I am wondering too. Or could be LG’s. They show 8 channel support, but not which configurations those go to in the EDID.

Userlevel 3
Badge +2

I’m a bit of a layman with all this and not sure I understood all of the posts.

To clarify, will those two steps fix the LPCM issue for this setup, without needing an additional switcher?

I’m still hesitant to pay more money for something I should have, so looking for a solution without added gizmos.

Yes, that is my preliminary finding. Also, I suspect that the HDFury Arcana will NOT work if the source audio is decoded 192 or 96 kHz. However, with the DR HDMI 4K, the result looks doable. I am using my fix now and playing back 192 kHz files correctly as downsampled 48K.

As far as I can tell (and others on this thread), the only way to get decoded DTS in multichannel PCM is to use an intermediary device or swap out the Panasonic for a different player. It really depends on how many discs you have and in which formats. You could also rip discs and decode the DTS at that time. Of course, that is a whole other source of pain.

I was just looking at old LG C9 threads at their site, and this was spotted back in 2019. LG said they had fixed MC LPCM then and people reported it working, at least from PlayStations and Xbox’s.