DTS, Dolby 5.1 on Playbar, 2015 edition!

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

136 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +6
I'm having a nightmare trolling through all of these threads, if I use an HDMI switch am I not going to lose the audio from my tv ? Whats the best way to do this that people have found. I'm only willing to spend about £30 on this problem though after just buying the PlayBar!!! Can live with stereo is there's not cheap fix
Userlevel 7
Hi Pico

"I also found a link for Italia: http://www.futurhome.net/octavafile/octava_hd41arc.pdf"

Here's the direct link to home page for the Octava dealer in Italy: http://www.futurhome.net/

Cheers!
Userlevel 7
Hi Pico

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination. However, from all that I have read (from you) thus far it sounds like you may have the wrong connections from your source units to your TV and out to the Playbar. My suggestion is to connect all your source units to a powered HDMI switch; then HDMI to TV and Optical out from TV to Playbar. The type of switch I'm referring to can run up to $300 (USD) but I've found it a worthwhile investment.

Here's the US link to the one that I use...purchased here in the US: https://octavainc.com/HDMI%20switch%204x1%20ARC%20port_pro.html

I also found a link for Italia: http://www.futurhome.net/octavafile/octava_hd41arc.pdf

This unit is designed specially to work with the Sonos Playbar. You can probably find something similar where you live. I've attached a diagram of my connections for your review - Click it to enlarge it. I hope this sets you on the right path to a "set it once and leave it" solution.

P.S.
You probably already verified this...but make sure your TV is capable of sending DD 5.1 over optical; as all sets aren't.

Cheers!