Sonos - Please STOP with the CONSTANT updates!!!

Userlevel 3
Badge +1
I've spent thousands of dollars on Sonos hardware, and it's fantastic. I'm ready to sell it all off and just go back to my wired system. Why? CONSTANT UPDATES that are disruptive and anything but helpful. As a former software engineer, I understand that code needs to be maintained in order to streamline the user experience, but this is bordering on ridiculous. It seems like every other time I open the app, I'm told I need to update, which often leads to me having to run around my office and reconnect ten players - VERY annoying. If you could simply reduce your updates to every quarter or at least every couple of months, I'm sure we would all appreciate it.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

26 replies

Turn off automatic updates on your mobile devices and turn off update notifications on the Sonos app.
Userlevel 7
Badge +22
Sonos please continue the updates...looking forward to Airplay2 and Google Home.
Userlevel 3
Badge +1
No one is asking for updates to stop, just plan them out strategically, which is what most developers do. We don't need microupdates every two weeks.
There have been no updates every two weeks. There haven't even been two in the last two months. Unless you are running a beta, updates just aren't as frequent as you say. Usually, it is every 3-4 months.
Userlevel 3
Badge +1
I'm not running a beta. I've been prompted to update several times in the last 8 weeks, requiring complete reconnection of every player. I wouldn't be on here posting this if there were only a couple of updates every now and then. If you search the forum, you'll see that there are countless other members posting the same complaint. More strategic development planning would be a good idea.
Userlevel 7
Badge +22