Question

Sonos Controller CB200 battery not charging

Badge
Hi All, I've been enjoying my Sonos systems for seven years now, but recently my controller unit won't charge when placed back on the charge cradle. If I restart the unit, sometimes it charges, but not always. I really like using the controller as its very simple to use. And thankfully the interface has stayed the same all along.

Is it a software glitch (as I updated a month or so ago) or do I need to buy a new battery?

Any answers greatly appreciated.
Many thanks
Prit

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

15 replies

After 7 years, I'm guessing it could be any of many things. Have you tried cleaning the contacts where it connects in the charge cradle? I've used things such as pencil erasers, or rubbing alcohol on q-tips for things like this. Be sure to clean both sides, the charger, and the tablet side. But it's also possible that after 7 years the batter may be on its last legs.

I've never owned one of these, so I don't know how replaceable the battery is. But I certainly understand the appeal of the interface never changing 🙂
Userlevel 7
Badge +22
Charging sometimes is a pretty sure sign of dirty contacts as was suggested. Give the base and controller contacts both a rub with a dry Q-tip as a first try. That worked on both my CR 100s and on my CR 200 until it died from hitting the floor.

If that makes things better, great. If not slightly dampen a Q-tip with contact cleaner and wipe the contacts. Do not soak the contents or use a soppy-wet Q-tip or you may make matters worse. I spray a spot of WD on a desktop and touch the Q-tip to the damp spot which is plenty of cleaner.