Samsung Galaxy Note 8, Wifi, Sonos ARC and Sonos v2

• 22 February 2021
  • 6 replies

This is a post to help others with Google Search. The problems I had, and the fix.

On my Samsung Galaxy S9+, never had a problem, when I changed the router and reset the two ARCs to use it. Wifi & wireless, flawless.

The older Note 8 device? When it was the S1, it worked, then the upgrade to S2, worked for a while, then stopped completely. I never got it up and running again.

As I work as an IT professional, this was a challenge. I figured it was a combination of older Android on the Note 8, security, the Wifi type 2.4ghz vs 5ghz, some weird configuration.

Finally I had wired with RJ45 ethernet cables between the router and the Den TV for “wired” Netflix, Chromecast & Amazon Prime, with a cheap 5-port hub behind the TV.

I plugged one of the ARCs wired into the hub, and when it powered up, Lo & Behold, the Note 8 now sees ALL the ARCs in the network!!!

So if at least ONE Sonos speaker is wired network to the router, it acts as a “gateway” to the other speakers on the Wifi through the router, instead of, your device.

I had bought a pair from Costco last year.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

So if at least ONE Sonos speaker is wired network to the router, it acts as a “gateway” to the other speakers on the Wifi through the router, instead of, your device.

With one or more Sonos devices connect to your router (or via a switch), you are in what Sonos calls ‘wired mode, or sonosnet.  You could say that your speaker connected to the router is effectively the gateway.  However, without a wired device, your system is in ‘wireless mode’, where every device connects to the router over 2.4 Ghz.  There isn’t any gateway with this setup, no phone or tablet is acting as a gateway.  Each phone or tablet  is just a controller in any setup.