Question

Problems with Sonos app recognising a new system.

Hi I am a pensioner and a complete novice. I have purchased a Play 3 and am trying to set it up using my IPad. When I download the Sonos controller app it comes from iCloud and will not allow me to set up a new system. The only option on the app relates to an existing system which I do not have only my new Play 3. I am wondering if the problem is because my daughter originally set up Sonos and used it to play her Play 1 when we were with her for Christmas. I have tried deleting the app in Icloud and reinstalling it but the problem continues. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

12 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +21
From the iOS guide (page 6) http://www.sonos.com/documents/productguides/en/iOSGuide_EN.pdf

Hi Stuart. Many thanks for your quick reply. On the Sonos app it only has the initial screen with connect to an existing device. I cannot see settings on this initial page to do what you say? Any ideas?
Userlevel 7
Badge +21
What happens if you try to connect to the existing system in the app?
Not tried that before. However, when I did I get a flashing orange which then turns solid orange on the Play 3 and then the app says product not connected perhaps not close enough to router. Seems strange because the Ipad and the iPhone work very well in the same location with the wi fi. Tried it again as app suggested with same result. Do not really understand what is going on I must admit. Surely the app should give the two options and then have a settings option as well. Thanks again.
Userlevel 7
Badge +21
So you need to take a step backwards.

Unplug the Play 3
Then fire up the Sonos app (Do you have a PC or MAC you could try instead?)
Hopefully you will then have an option to set up a new system