New App is a Step Backwards

• 16 October 2017
  • 16 replies

Userlevel 3
New App Update is Terrible.... SONOS please listen to your customers and at least give us the option of using the old version. Why are you over thinking it. The previous version was about perfect. I use it everyday and now im fumbling and getting frustrated trying to control various rooms and sources... PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

16 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge
I absolutely agree. I was a HUGE salesman for SONOS. I would absolutely not recommend it now.
Userlevel 6
Badge +15
Adding my vote - not a fan of the new app, but I'll give it some more time to see if it's just an unfamiliarity issue.
New app forced me to re-sign up to each music service, reconfigure all players and still isn't there nearly as well as before. Sonos=time suck and lameness I'm really bummed.
Userlevel 4
Badge +2
Agree, the old controller was much better, the new one drives me nutts, to many screens to navigate
I agree, the way selecting rooms (which is the second most used function after selecting a song) does not work well. (click means touch display on your smartphone/Tablet). Sometimes the app confuses and creates a group, although you only selected one room. For example: Instead of one click on selecting room 2 on previous app version (Unselect room 1/select room 2), you have to unselect room 1(one click) + select room 2 (second click), and it is not very responsive.
Are you referring to the quick grouping facility that is near the bottom of the Now Playing screen? If so then you seem to be mis-using it.

If you want identical functionality to the previous app, swipe down the Now Playing screen and touch the Rooms button on the tab bar. Hopefully the next version of the app will have the tab bar on the Now Playing screen without the need to swipe down.