keyboard "Play" button only works if desktop controller has focus

• 2 June 2018
  • 6 replies

Badge
I use Spotify but prefer a lot of things about the Sonos app (I use Windows 7 and desktop controller)--like the fact that it only has one queue. Unfortunately, Spotify integration with Sonos is poor, but I might live with that except for one thing. I use the "play/pause" button on my keyboard to turn on and off the music. For Windows Media Player, the old Zune/Groove apps, and the Spotify app, it works as expected--when I hit pause, it pauses, and the app doesn't have to have focus. But the Sonos desktop controller doesn't handle that keypress unless it's the foreground app. I'm a programmer, so I know when you say "it's only software" that doesn't mean it's easy... but this is so small I wish they would fix it!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +19
Hi there, AbigailFair. Thanks for posting and for sharing your feedback. As an avid video gamer myself, I can see the benefit in the Sonos Desktop app using the shortcut keys built into some keyboards. I am happy to forward this along to the team for consideration and visibility. Thanks again and keep the ideas coming!
Badge
Awesome! Here's a similar request: https://en.community.sonos.com/community-feedback-229090/pc-keyboard-media-key-integration-6794483
Hi there, AbigailFair. Thanks for posting and for sharing your feedback. As an avid video gamer myself, I can see the benefit in the Sonos Desktop app using the shortcut keys built into some keyboards. I am happy to forward this along to the team for consideration and visibility. Thanks again and keep the ideas coming!

*push* ;)
Is there a chance, that this feature will be implemented?
Probably slim, given their recent de-emphasis on the desktop controllers. But we can hope.