Question

Has anyone else given up on the Sonos app and use native music apps?

Userlevel 3
Badge +3

This whole S2 experience is just crap Sonos. Far from being a new app it’s clearly built over the old app as a bug from S1 carried over to S2. But now I can’t get Apple Music library to populate in the app, phone support is a joke - doesn’t even know Apple Music had a library function. 

has anyone else given up on the Sonos app and just use airplay 2 or Spotify connect etc now? 

it just seems pathetic that to get a stable Sonos experience I have to use another companies music app to get that stability. 

ive been using Sonos for ten years now. Every time they do something new they screw up the overall experience just a little bit more. 

Sonos, please stop! Stop with new products. Stop with new software. Stop with new features. Stop until you get what you have now working 100% first. You are very quickly becoming the Microsoft Windows of Music. 

18 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +17

I’m sorry you’re having problems, but I really think you’re in the minority. My S2 System, app, all speakers, and Music Library are working fine. So: no, I’ve not given up on the Sonos app. 

Userlevel 3
Badge +3

I’m sorry you’re having problems, but I really think you’re in the minority. My S2 System, app, all speakers, and Music Library are working fine. So: no, I’ve not given up on the Sonos app. 

Thank you for your reply. However just because you have no issues, does not make me the “minority” especially as this forum is littered with posts about tech issues with S2. And your experience does not invalidate my own. And as a very long term user I think I can speak with a little authority about the long term user experience. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +17

Check how many speakers Sonos have sold. It’s in the millions. I think you’re in the minority.