BBC Iplayer

• 28 December 2016
  • 13 replies

We have a Sonos 1 speaker. Sadly one of the main things I need my audio system to do is play radio four. We do listen to music but I am an artist and work from home and use "listen again" every day. This is so disappointing for me. And I think possibly for other people - Lots of my friends use the iPlayer to re-listen to the BBC programmes. You can download a number of programmes to MP3 but to be honest most of the ones I listen to must be subject to copyright and cannot be downloaded - just streamed for up to 4 weeks after the program (the Book of the Week, 15 minute Drama, etc). I feel this is a real omission by Sonos as the BBC iPlayer is such a fantastic resource for everyone. I do not want to have multiple speakers around the house, and it seems that Bluetooth can do pretty much everything I wanted to. So at this point it seems the sonos system has limited use and will be returned.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

13 replies

IPlayer support seems really popular request.

You can find much (but not all) bbc radio content in the tunein radio app in Sonos. Before you return it make sure you search there for the shows you listen to as you might be happy.
Thanks for the thought, but have done that already.
Thanks for the thought, but have done that already.

If you have a unit with a line in then you could use that to cast iplayer in to your system with cca or bluetooth. Again not perfect, but compared to bluetooth only a better compromise imo.
No line in on sonos 1 - as far as I can see, only on play 5.
No line in on sonos 1 - as far as I can see, only on play 5.

Yup no line in. Sorry l tap out.
Userlevel 5
Badge +11
Bluetooth would be your best avenue to go down. You have bought a multi-room, multi-user speaker that fetches over wifi what to play.