Album art : inconsistent showing ?

• 20 January 2015
  • 11 replies

Userlevel 2
To test, I have uploaded one folder.jpg file to one album in my library (21 from Adele), and refreshed the library (I have never used album art before). I have Sonos controllers on several devices, and the album artwork shows on some, but not on all:

- Android Samsung phone : no trace from the album art
- Laptop : shows small thumbnails in albums scrolling, and next to each songs once album selected, but nothing in the larger view when playing (left & middle of screen)
-iPad : nothing when browsing albums, but once the album selected, it does show a thumbnail; once playing, it does not show on the big window.

I just put one single folder.jpg, 500x500 px, 40Kb in the same directory than the songs. I would imagine that Sonos would use that to resize and display the jpg everywhere?

11 replies

You don't need to re-index the library. Sonos picks up the artwork on the fly, but controllers do have a limited amount of temporary cache.

The folder.jpg size (pixels, kB) is well within limits. However there could be something slightly amiss with its internal format which is upsetting some controllers. Try opening the file in an image viewer (e.g. IrfanView) and re-saving.
Userlevel 2
Thanks ratty, that solved it. I indeed just downloaded a jpg from a website, and after I used Zoner for a simple re-save it showed up everywhere.

Was this just bad luck with one jpg, or do you expect this to happen every time? My idea was to use Bliss or Album Art Downloader to automatically find the jpg's for my 600 something albums. If I have to start to do a manual open & re-save for each jpg, that's going to be a nightmare ...
I use Bliss and throughly recommend it. It comes with 100 free try's to make sure it works for you.
Userlevel 2
I use Bliss and throughly recommend it. It comes with 100 free try's to make sure it works for you.

And the jpg's that Bliss found, where all readily recognized in Sonos?