Question

Turntable > Port > Arc advice for better sound out of vinyl

• 17 October 2020
  • 5 replies

I’m new to Sonos, received my Arc Home theater set up (Arc, Sub, 2 ONE SLs) and had no issues setting it up to my LG tv eARC for my AppleTV 4K and Playstation Pro. Actually a very enjoyable set up experience! So all of the AV setup is done, good to go. 

Problem I’m having now is I also have a turntable in the living room. My goal is to have it sound as good as I can though my Arc but I have concerns that the analog to digital happening in the Sonos Connect is crushing the sound cause right now, Apple Music through the Apple TV is sounding MUCH better then when I play the turntable through the Connect > Arc. 

Over on Reddit I learned about this community and post about line in level matching my output and the equation to convert my cartage and preamp numbers to figure out what output level I should put it at. By default the app had 2 selected, using 10 certainly helped but according to the equation, I need to go above 10 (enter Spinal Tap joke here). I have an Ortofon 2M Red cartridge (looks to be a 5.5 mV) and for my Behringer Microphono PP400 (looks like my gain is 35 dB). With those numbers equation give me a 309 mV on what is going in to the Connect. 

So first thought was get a more powerful preamp, OR if I return the Connect and get the Sonos Amp would that give me the boost I’m looking for? Do I still need a pre-amp with the Amp and would still need to look to get a more power pre-amp?

My setup before Sonos Arc was an old Bose Cinemate Series II that had an optical input and an RCA input which is what my pre-amp connected to and I thought it did a decent job. I’m no where near being at this same level of sound quality hitting my speakers. Thanks in advance for any advice on competing my system!!!