Answered

Remove Bridge to improve reliability

• 14 August 2019
  • 6 replies

Badge +1
  • Avid Contributor I
  • 4 replies
I received an email from Sonos this week ' Action Suggested' 'Remove Bridge'. I'm not technical minded so I'm asking the question 'Why?' What has changed that Sonos are suggesting I don't need the Bridge anymore? Have anyone of you done this and is the Bridge really not required, if so, why was it required previously? Thank you.
icon

Best answer by Ken_Griffiths 14 August 2019, 17:47

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

Badge +1
Update: I've gone over to Wi-Fi connection and disconnected the Bridge and all is working well.

Thanks for your help everyone🙂
Eventually, and I’m not sure I know the order of these things, Sonos added the ability for each speaker to act as a BRIDGE
They always have done, all of them, ever since the original ZP100 which pre-dated Bridge by a couple of years.

What seems more likely to me, at least, is that there’s some change that will be occurring soonish that will invalidate the SonosNet version 1, and I think the only device that can’t be upgraded via software is the original BRIDGE.

ZP100 and ZP80 also use SonosNet 1.0.
Badge +1