Question

Onkyo multi zone

• 8 April 2019
  • 4 replies

Hi, im looking to build a whole home audio system using a combination of Onkyo 787 receiver, a Sonos connect to power the 3 zones within the receiver and multiple Sonos Amps to power additional zones throughout the house. All speakers will be hard wired to the receiver and Amps. A couple questions with this set up...

1. Can my Onkyo receiver play Sonos if the source is selected?

2. Since these are all hard wires, should there be an audio delay between the zones powered by the Onkyo receiver and the Sonos Amps?

I’m new to sonos and want to understand any issues prior to going all in. Thanks everyone for your help!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

4 replies

I’m considering the same setup. Did anyone figure this out?  Thanks!

No responses, so I’ll take a whack at this.

Since the Onkyo is advertised as “works with Sonos, you’ll need to be using either a Sonos CONNECT or Sonos Port to connect to the Sonos ecosystem. If I read the information on Amazon correctly, that should allow use of the Sonos to cause the Onkyo to switch over to the Sonos input. Any amplifier with a line level input should be able to play a Sonos input from either the CONNECT or Port.

It’s important to note that the Sonos Amp doesn’t have an analog output, so it can’t be used to connect to the Onkyo receiver. However, if a CONNECT or Port are connected, then any Sonos device, including the Amp will be able to play any signal being sent to the Sonos ecosystem.