Is it time to leave Sonos?

• 20 December 2020
  • 4 replies

Not trying to start up a flame war, but I’m genuinely at a decision point and need some opinions.

I LOVE(ED?) SONOS for a long time...I probably don’t have as extensive of investment as some of you (I only have Connect:AMP, 2x Play1 and 1xPlay5)...but, investment nonetheless.

Mostly, my setup does exactly what I need...I have very little interest in changes, can’t think of any new features that I need (except maybe to have Sonos stop breaking the features I have! [hello, lock screen controls?])

I would like to buy myself a soundbar for Christmas (although it looks like they aren’t shipping from sonos.com until Feb’21 😞 )  Hence the decision point...should I keep investing?

Will Sonos let me live forevermore with my “legacy” S1 devices...until they physically stop working?  I have no first hand experience with Sonos lifecycling products out.  Currently, I’m seeing the 30% ‘incentive’ to rid the world of older devices.  My fear, if I do nothing, in the next 18-24 months...there will ultimately be a “ping of death” sent by Sonos to my devices...bricking them.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

4 replies

My fear, if I do nothing, in the next 18-24 months...there will ultimately be a “ping of death” sent by Sonos to my devices...bricking them.

It would be illegal for Sonos to do that and I can’t see that it would do much for their rep if they tried it.

IMHO it is likely that things will become worse through time for S1 users, but it’s hard to say in which way - it might affect different users in different ways.