Question

Sub (Gen 3) dropping out with Arc..

• 5 July 2020
  • 2 replies

Hello,

I am new to the Sonos family and decided to jump in by purchasing the Arc and Sub (Gen 3). The system sounds amazing when it works. Unfortunately, I cannot keep the Sub connected and working. The only solution that I have found is to remove the Sub and then add it back to the system. 

It will work for a few hours and then the Sub will disappear. If I use the “find missing product” feature - it will find the Sub but the Sub will not function as it should - the light turns white as if everything is fine...the Arc takes the bass out of it’s mix but the Sub never functions properly. I have repeated the process of deleting the Sub and adding it back multiple times. I really want to like this system but getting it to work is incredibly frustrating.

My system is completely wireless. I have tried changing the 2.4 channel coming from the router; I have power cycled everything. The sub is about 2 feet from the Arc if that makes a difference. I don’t know what else to do. I have tried searching this forum and I haven’t found the answer but I could be overlooking it as well. If anyone here would be willing to help a newbie out - I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

2 replies

The Sub connects to the Arc on a ‘special’ 5Ghz channel, so changing your Wi-Fi channel wouldn’t normally make a significant difference, unless it’s contributing to wifi interference between the two. I’d be looking for devices near both of them that might be contributing to interference in general, but specifically in 5Ghz.