Answered

Smarthings vs Wink Hub 2

• 22 March 2018
  • 9 replies

Please point me in the right direction
icon

Best answer by AjTrek1 22 March 2018, 13:36

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

9 replies

Hello - I am completing a renovation on my new dream home (nice downsize to executive town home). As part of the reno, we installed SONOS in multiple rooms: 2 x SONOS Connect amps (bedroom/ensuite; kitchen/diningroom) + 2 x SONOS Connect (to two home theater setups). I am new to both SONOS and Home Automation. I would like to start dabbling with a Smarthome hub, beginning with the following enabled devices:
- SONOS
- Ring Doorbell Pro
- Nest 3rd Gen
- Home Decorators Collection Gardinier Smart Ceiling Fan
- Luminiz LED Strip lite with WIFI controller
- Wifi enabled electric floor heating
- Some smart light switches and perhaps motion sensors

I've read that Samsung Smarthings has issues with SONOS, but prefer the open nature of the Samsung device.

I'm looking for any advise on which direction to go: Smarthings or Wing Hub 2

Thank you.
Userlevel 7
Hi brianm1962

In the absence of a forum member making a comment from actual experience I'd have to say that Wink may have better integration with Sonos judging from the links. That said I personally cannot speak to either one so you'll have to make your own final decision based upon the info provided below. Good luck. Cheers!

Samsung Smarthings
https://support.smartthings.com/hc/en-us/articles/200927220-How-to-connect-Sonos-devices
Wink
https://www.wink.com/help/products/sonos-home-sound-system/
Userlevel 7
Badge +22
I have very good sonos integration with smartthings
Smartthings is more of an open platform. You can do more with it, but it requires you to have a better understanding of how it works. I have it myself and it's linked to Sonos, but I honestly never use it.