Is the Beam still worth it?

• 1 September 2020
  • 9 replies

Badge

Hello guys, I'm a newbie here and just got my beam today. I chose this vs. LG sn7cy, do you think I made the right decision? And do you think sonos beam is a bit out dated now? Thanks guys. Stay safe.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

9 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +7

The Beam was release in July 2018.  And it was part of the S2 upgrade path.  I’ve been happy with mine.

I like the Alexa integration.  The sound is good.  My is in a large room about 25’x25’.  I also have two One’s for surround.  Might get a Sub in a few months.

Userlevel 4
Badge +7

It is a fine speaker and not many other sound bars have the same smart capabilities, e.g. support for Google, Alexa and Airplay 2. 

The main limitation be aware of, is the limit audio format support. The only surround format supported is Dolby Digital 5.1. The same audio format used on non-HD DVDs. 

It doesn’t support DTS used on Blu-Ray, Dolby Digital Plus used by Netflix and many other streaming services and of course not Atmos or the like. 

There are workarounds, meaning that you rely on Blu-ray players, Apple TV’s or similar to convert whatever file format your source plays to Dolby Digital 5.1 - but it is likely you will find yourself in situations where you are only getting stereo because the source only carries surround in an unsupported format. 

This limitation is not likely to change. So if getting true surround matters, you could consider other alternatives. Of course, if you have other Sonos hardware, the only other alternative is the much larger and more expensive Arc - which has better audio format but still lacks DTS (surround from Blu-ray). 

Badge

So do you suggest that I should add 2 one sl ? And maybe later the sub (gen3) if budget permits :-) thanks a lot guys for replying. Stay safe.