Help wiring speakers

• 1 September 2018
  • 8 replies

I just moved to a house that has speakercraft speakers in the ceiling and I know it was previously hooked up to sonos. The seller left me one of the amps and it is used to power the kitchen and living room speaker (2 speakers). I am very very new to sonos and AV. I attempted to do research and believe i wired it correctly, but I am getting poor sound quality. I know for a fact that just a few weeks ago, these speakers sounded amazing. This is what i did.

For one speaker to put the green and black wire to the black connector on the amp and then the red and white wire to the red connector. For the other i did the same. Sound right? This sounds like a basic question but like i said, I am very new to this. Any help is appreciated. Photos attached

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +22
You can't really tell how the wires are connected on the speaker ends so trying to guess and hook them to the Amp is a bit iffy.

What you can do is pull all the wires off the Amp and identify which one goes to which speaker. A 1.5 volt battery usually works well, just hold one wire on the bottom of the battery and touch the other wires in turn to the top. When you hear a click you have identified one speaker's wires, mark them. Switch to another wire on the bottom of the battery and confirm the other pair is going to the other speaker. Do the same for the other wire just to be safe.
Ok thanks i will try this. i am a bit confused. are you saying that red and white may not go together? it may be red and green? or hooking that specific entire wire to say the left speaker is just guessing and could result in poor quality coming from that speaker? could some conductors on one wire mix with conductors on another? Thanks again
umpqua87,