Feature request: option to directly connect to 5GHz wi-fi

• 24 August 2019
  • 9 replies

Badge +1
Hello fellow Sonos fans,

Although I am a huge fan of Sonos, there is a problem that's bothering me.
I know I'm not the first person to ask for 5GHz support on Sonos speakers, but I hope this time we can engage in a constructive discussion. I also hope for Sonos employees to get involved.

What feature am I asking for?
The possibility to connect 5GHz compatible Sonos Speakers directly to 5GHz wi-fi.

Before anyone rushes to come up with any reason why this is not Sonos' strategy, let me tell you a few things. I'm a network engineer, specialized in wi-fi. I live in a crowded area in the centre of a reasonably big city. My 50 sq m apartment only has 2 rooms. The spectrum is crowded with wi-fi networks, certainly in 2.4GHz but also 5GHz has a few channels that should probably be avoided. Therefore I only use 5GHz wi-fi for my main devices and even have 2 accesspoints. There is a 2.4GHz network present for devices like printers etc. Let's just say wi-fi is excellent in my home.

Everything works like a charm, except for.... Sonos! I used to connect my speakers directly to 2.4GHz wi-fi, but since I purchased a Playbase that sits right on top of the cabinet with my network gear I switched setup. Now the Playbase has a wired connection and my other speakers connect to the Sonosnet of the Playbase. I have to admit this certainly decreased the amount of problems I had. It didn't completely eliminate them, and over the past 8 months problems are getting worse.

In previous discussions these are the arguments against my request. I will reply to them one by one: