Sonos Now Playing with Alexa Groups

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

257 replies

@MiDe72

I'm new to this, I thought i read that you need to Group your other Dot (or all Dots) as their own group even if there is only is one device in the group. That way every device is in a group (even if only a single device). Try that

Doing this will help with ducking, or lowering the volume of a speaker temporarily so Alexa can hear you better. When an echo is an an alexa group, it will duck whatever speaker is listed as a smart device in that same alexa group. If there is no Alexa group, it will default to ducking to all Sonos speakers without microphones (everything but Sonos One or Beam). So if you don't want any ducking when you speak to a specific echo, create a group for it, and don't put any speaker in the smart device section.

At least, that's my understanding. We're all new to this.

That's fine. But when I ask another Dot to stop (when it is not doing anything) it stops playback on the Sonos even though it is not grouped.

I actually like this functionality. I typcially only have one stream of audio going in the house at a time. So if I want to turn it off, it's conveniet to be able to turn it off from anywhere without having to target where it's currently playing.

[...]

I get why you may look at this as a bug, since it's not doing what you thought it would do, but I imagine people are going to have different expectations based on thier own habits and intuitions.

Wow, I tried the same with two Dots, starting playback on one and stopping it on another and it does the same. I never realized it worked that way, so it has always been there.