Meet Sonos Beam

Show first post

306 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge
Hello! I received my Beam yesterday and it’s amazing!
I’m getting one too this coming week. I am hearing lots of good things about it. I have two of the older Sonos Play-1's already and plan to bond those into 5.0 surround sound setup. Can’t wait to try it out.

I received mine on the same day it was launched. It is now paired with 2x Play 1 as LS and RS speakers. When i watch Netflix and Amazon Prime, in the Sonos app it is showing the output audio is Dolby Digital 5.1. I am not an expert, but i am very happy with this set up without SUB, sounds clear, balanced and actually dynamic and it gives you real surround sound feeling. 😃
Hi all,

I feel the launch of the new Beam sparked quite some criticism with a certain group of people. I'm definitely one of the Sonos user's for which the Beam offering is perfect, and I'd like to share why. Hopefully this provides another angle to this thread.

My current setup
2x Play:5 for stereo music listening and a Beam to replace the poor excuse for speakers that they've put in my TV.

What I'm looking for in a sound system (and what not)
* I listen way more music than I watch TV. I also care more about music than movies and home cinema.
* I want outstanding sound quality. It doesn't need to be the best one can buy, but it needs to be high-end.
* I want a system that "just works". I happily give up some audio quality or €'s in favour of WiFi connected speakers, AirPlay 2, Alexa, etc.
* The system needs to look good and not draw too much visual attention. For me that means no tower speakers and simple designs (like the Play 5 or Beam, and unlike the Playbar).
* I'm not necessarily looking for "best value for money".

Why the Sonos Beam is a perfect offering for me:
* It's small in size. I don't want a huge TV screen and massive sound bar on my wall.
* It uses HDMI ARC: This checks the "it just works" checkbox. I also value Alexa. To me it's more than a gimmick.