If This Then Sonos

• 7 September 2018
  • 60 replies

Show first post

60 replies

Hi folks!
I'm new to this world, can someone tell me if i can start music from my Sonos with Google Home mini using IFTTT?
I've already set my 2 account on ifttt page, when i say something like "Ok Google start Sonos" (like i've set up on ifttt page) google home mini don't reply to me, it seems like he reached the command but can't send it to Sonos...
Anyone did it?

Yes you can, create an IFTTT routine and select 'Google Assistant' as your trigger and then (as an example) set the phrase you wish to use, such as 'play my favourite playlist'... then ... select 'Sonos' as your action and chose to play a chosen playlist on a particular room, grouped rooms, or everywhere.

There are also many other Sonos actions for setting the volume level, muting/unmuting and skipping next/previous songs etc.

Simply link your Google and Sonos accounts to your IFTTT account.

Hope that helps ?
You are great! it works! Previous version of my applets (find already done on ifttt page) was that said "works with Google assistant" and not "works with Sonos".
That's awesome, hope that sonos improve Google assistant asap, till now i'm in love with IFTTT!:D
Hi folks,
I'm using IFTTT webhook to trigger my Sonos. Webhooks offer the possibility to create a more dynamic applet by passing on attributes. See the documentation at https://maker.ifttt.com/use/add_your_key_here. This content will be passed on to the Action in your Recipe. It seems that the Sonos service in IFTTT does not respect these attributes. This would allow one dynamic applet instead of one applet for each playlist and/or room.
Anyone an idea if I'm missing anything?
Userlevel 5
Badge +9
The ability to add ingredients to an IFTTT recipe would add significantly to the existing capabilities. Sonos' IFTTT integration is still in its infancy, however, and I would suspect (hope?) that something like this is on the roadmap.
Userlevel 5
Badge +9