Update News

Android Devices no longer able to join SonosNet

Show first post

136 replies

So....Im meant to buy a wireless extender and plug it into, say a zone bridge within my system. Not being a networking engineer, I have questions. Do I plug it into a zone bridge that is halfway between the house and the summer house, so that it can wirelessly reach both? Surely plugging an extender into a Sonos component in the house will not "boost" the house wifi to the summer house? Likewise, plugging a wifi extender into the Sonos amp in the summer house will not reach the house wireless router.
If my Android cannot access Sonos-net anyway, how will my Android then be able to control the summer house Sonos, when I am IN the summer house and out of range of my home wifi??
Please give me the actual facts on how this is going to work, what I need to do, how I need to connect my android phone and to what and where I need to stick the wireless router (as it were!).
Thanks in anticipation......

You'd simply wire a WiFi access point (AP) to the Ethernet port on the Sonos unit in the summer house. The phone would talk to the AP over its local WiFi. The AP connects to the Sonos unit over Ethernet. The summer house Sonos presumably connects directly to the rest of the system in the main house via SonosNet. In essence the AP's connection back to the router would piggyback on the SonosNet connection.

Note that this is an access point, not a wireless extender. That said, many extenders can function as access points (and vice versa), depending on how they're configured. Check before you buy.
Many thanks Kumar.....so plugging in any cheap wireless extender to the amp in the Summer House will create another local wireless network which i can log into with my phone and use the android controller? Is that correct? Wont the new extender have a different address or whatever it is and so be on a different wireless network to the rest of the house wifi?