Fire HD 10 plus Sonos Play:5 (with line in) - muffled sound?

• 7 August 2018
  • 5 replies

All, I am relatively new to using Sonos. I got a Playbar with the sub and a couple of Ones and it spiraled out of control from there, and now I have multiple Ones, Plays and am considering a Beam.

Anyway, I have one issue that I feel like I keep having to work around for:

- I had an Echo Show and like the visual for messages, song lyrics (use Amazon Music), weather, video calls etc. but didn't like the speaker on the Show or that I had to say "on kitchen" every time to get it to play on the speaker I wanted
- I ended up swapping it out for a Fire HD 10 and a Play:5 but when using the Controller there were 2 things that I didn't like ... still had to say on Kitchen to get it to play on the Play:5 (more an issue for my 4 year old who doesn't understand why she has to say it), and when it is then playing you don't see details of the song (mane, lyrics etc.) and the Fire defaults back to home screen
- I thought a work around would be to use the line in functionality and for music it now works great, but when we ask Alexa about the weather the volume is low. I understand that this may be down to "ducking"

Is there a workaround, or am I making this overly complex. I just want to use the Fire HD 10 like an Echo Show, I want to be able to ask Alexa about the weather, but I also want to be able to group my speakers so when we ask Alexa on the Fire to play music we can also listen to it in other rooms.

Thanks

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +21
I'm not aware of any workaround for that scenario, other then...don't set it up that way. Either enable the skill or directly connect your play:5 to an Alexa device. The combination of both is going to cause problem.