Answered

TV + ARC + AMP - Bonding Distance

• 25 May 2021
  • 4 replies

Badge +1

Newbie here. 

I’m building out a covered porch right now with the “dream setup”. Outdoor fireplace with TV & ARC above it, and am planning on using AMP + Ceiling Speakers as rears for that system. 

Everything is getting framed and built out right now, and I’m trying to figure out what wiring I need run. 

Below is a rudimentary diagram of my plan.. but here’s the crutch of my question: 

ARC will be hooked into TV’s eARC HDMI port. 

I’m hoping that ARC can wirelessly bond to an AMP so that those are a single Sonos Room together (and the AMP ceiling speakers set as rears), but my concern is my planned location for the AMP is in a utility closet that is about 25 ft away from this porch (through walls), AND that’s through an exterior brick wall. 

Unfortunately the AMP is backordered until late August and construction will be wrapped up by then, so I can’t test all this while all the framing is still exposed. 

Should I run Cat5 (or another cable?) from the TV / ARC location to the utility closet where the AMP will be? The only other location for the AMP that would be closer to the ARC would be an unfinished garage space underneath the porch, which I would not prefer. 

icon

Best answer by melvimbe 25 May 2021, 20:37

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

4 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +9

Use Cat6. Hardly any difference price wise but Cat6 can do a lot more (although not beneficial to your system in query it may be of future use). Always run 2 lengths minimum in case one is damaged

CAT5 is fine.  And you can connect the Arc to Amp directly or through a router or switch.  Either is fine.