High-res audio - bypassing SONOS bitrate limitation

• 12 August 2021
  • 8 replies

Hi there,

I’m new to the platform and I don’t know if this question has been asked before.

At the moment I'm using a SONOS PORT hooked to my Denon 3313 receiver. I use a coax cable for the connection.

The maximum bitrate of the SONOS PORT is set at 16bit/44.1kHz. The Denon receiver, however, has a maximum bitrate of 24bit/192kHz.

I would like to know if - by using the coax connection - I can bypass the SONOS PORT's internal DAC and use the Denon's DAC. I guess this is possible. However, will this also enable me to use the higher Denon bitrate of 24bit/192kHz, and thus bypass the SONOS bitate limitation of 16bit/44.1kHz .

I'm looking forward to your input and many thanks in advance.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

Thx for sharing this video. 

This will do the trick. I’m just gonna connect my apple iPad to my Denon using the lightning cable to usb.

Next thing I need to check is if I can start Apple Music on my iPad and subsequently change songs with my iPhone. TBC.  

Thanks Ratty for your reaction.

I’m currently using Deezer, but I’m considering to switch to Apple Music. Since Apple offers 24bit/192kHz music, I want to stream in highest possible bitrate (call me foolish, but I believe I can hear the difference). 

If the above setup doesn’t work, would interposing a Denon DNP-800 do the trick ?

If you’re looking at getting Apple 24bit/192kHz ‘lossless’ streaming audio into your Denon DAC/Amp then perhaps see if this short YT video link below may help you at all?