Answered

Boost wired or not!

• 18 February 2019
  • 9 replies

Hi there,
I currently have a small setup comprising of 3 Play:1's and a connect:amp. These are complimented by a Sonos Boost.
I am not tech savvy and seek some clarification. I have setup my bridge in th eoofice which is connected to my modem router via an ethernet switch.
The Connect:amp is in the lounge room and is connected via ethernet.
The play:1's are all setup as wireless around different locations of my house.
The boost sits next to one of the Play:1's and is connected wirelessly.
The entire system seems to work fine with the occasional drop out.
I recently purchased the TP Link Deco mesh system which made me pull my hair out as I could not get Sonos to work, and if it did, only 1 play:1 was showing, not four. At this time, I unplugged the mesh system and reverted to my Belkin range extender's network and I have all products working.
Should I have the boost connected via ethernet to gain better communication with all speakers, or is this setup suitable?
I have read on other forums that you should not have more than 1 sonos connected via ethernet.
Appreciate any help or clarification.
Cheers
Mick.
icon

Best answer by mickeyg04 11 March 2019, 22:29

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

9 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +11
Cabling more is usually better. I personally have a router than cannot cope with more than one being wired, but I am in a minority.

Your bridge and your boost are both devices used to help SonosNet create a stronger network - having your boost close to a play1 and not ethernet connected seems counter intuitive. SonosNet effectively allows each unit to wirelessly communicate with it's closest neighbour, so your boost would ideally be ethernet connected and placed centrally to wherever you think there may be a hole in the signal.